The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Movie Review

So today I saw the movie; ‘The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey’ which is directed by Peter Jackson, and based on the 1937 fantasy book ‘The Hobbit’ written by J. R. R. Tolkien. It stars Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins, Ian McKellen as Gandalf and Richard Armitage as Thorin. It has a running time of 169 minutes.I believe that The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is the first instalment in The Hobbit Trilogy. The second movie The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug which will be released in December 2013. The third and final instalment will be released in 2014 and is called The Hobbit: There and Back Again.

TheHobbit_Bilbo1Sht_Dom_lo

Theatre Experience: My experience in the cinema, while watching this film was fairly good. The seats were comfortable and there wasn’t anyone sitting on the seat in front of me, so I could see the screen perfectly. Although, it was a bit chilly inside the cinema. I was just wearing a short sleeved shirt as it was quite hot outside. And at parts in the film the sound was so loud, I was cringing. In fact it was mostly just the music and sound effects that were loud. The talking was very quiet, and even hard to hear in some places. My only trouble with the people in the cinema, was the people to my right, behind me. The seat next me to was free, and the people behind me had their feet on that chair, which was a bit distracting. It wasn’t the best or the worst experience I’ve had.

Music: Yes, the music was very dramatic and one of the best things about a film. It made the movie so much better.

Characters: Bilbo Baggins, the hobbit, was played well. It was like the character I had in my head while reading the book, had jumped out onto the screen. Half the time I wanted to grab him and give him a big hug. He was brave and clever, especially in the later half of the film.

The Story: Baggins, a hobbit who enjoys the comforts of his own home, goes on the adventure of a lifetime with Gandalf and 13 dwarves, to reclaim the dwarves home, taken many years ago by Smaug, the dragon. The start is an older Baggins telling Frodo, his story. It was quite slow moving and drawn out, with new scenes added in which was good, even if it was to just take up time. Not quite sure how they’re going to make 3, 3-hour movies out of a 300 word book, but, we’ll have to see. You also meet Gollum, (‘my precious’). His scenes brought a lot of laughs to the audience and was one of the best parts of this film.

Overall: I enjoyed this movie, and would definitely watch it again. I give it 8/10 for the stunning visuals, great characters and beautiful music.

Rach, x

LMAO

2 Comments

Filed under movies

2 responses to “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Movie Review

  1. Great review rach2823! I loved the movie too but didn’t have anyone’s feet near me! Can’t wait for the next 2- didn’t know they already had names. Brit, x

Leave a Reply

